by Dave Warner

The Little Falls Rotary Club held their ‘Changing of the Guard’ ceremony, Wednesday night at the Travelodge, where the gavel was passed from Patricia Talaba, President of the group for 2018-2019 to Dale and Linda Wagner, who are going to be Co-Presidents for the upcoming year.

The evening started out with the Pledge of Allegiance and club song, and then the introduction of special guests. After dinner, there were awards and gifts, the presentation of the Paul Harris Fellows awards and then the changing of the guard.

According to outgoing President Pat Talaba “Every year, the Rotary Club has a changing of the guard ceremony before the end of the Rotary year, which runs from July 1 to June 30. We usually decide prior to the end of December, who the next slate of officers is going to be.”

“We get to turn over the reins of the club and recognize the things that the club has done over the course of the past year. We did recognize Anthony Piana, even though he was not able to attend. Through the years, Tony has served the Club in numerous leadership positions, including serving as club president for three terms.  He most recently served as club secretary for many years, as Rotary District 7150 Assistant Governor for two terms, and as the annual Canal Days Golf Tournament chairperson.  Tony is affectionately known in the club as Mr. Rotary,” she said.

Photo submitted – Dr. Tony Piana along with Rotary President Patricia Talaba.

Talaba said “Tony has been a great recruiter of members for Rotary. He actually asked me to come into Rotary 10 years ago.”

Rotary brings together a global network of volunteers who dedicate their time and talent to tackle the world’s most pressing humanitarian challenges. Rotary connects 1.2 million members from more than 200 countries and geographical areas. Their work impacts lives at both the local and international levels, from helping families in need in their own communities to working toward a polio-free world.

The board of directors for the 2019-2020 year are:

Dale and Linda Wagner, Co-Presidents, Chis Van Meter, President-elect, Patricia Talaba, Past-president, Mary Trombley, Treasurer, Barbara Smith, Secretary, Mke Evans, Sargeant at Arms, and Colleen Corsi and Larry Sargeant, Members at Large.

If you would like more information on the group, they meet on Wednesdays at 6:30 pm at the Little Falls Elks Club, 60 North Ann St. They’re also on the web at